Scottish Beer Awards 2019

Winners of the fourth annual Scottish Beer Awards have been revealed at a ceremony in Edinburgh.

The presentation followed a detailed judging process involving 35 expert tasters and business judges, who assessed nearly 300 Scottish beers and 45 brewing businesses.

Edinburgh-based Stewart Brewing was crowned Scottish brewery of the year for the second year after achieving record business growth in terms of turnover, exports and product development. 

The brewery was also presented with the exporter of the year and product development team of the year awards, as well as taking away a gold and two silver medals in the taste competition.

Close behind was Fierce Beer, which triumphed in the taste awards again this year, taking home eight taste medals, including three golds. There was also recognition for head brewer, Dominique Bongers, who collected the coveted brewer of the year award after the judging panel specifically recognised her knowledge, innovation, and skills only one year into the job. 

A firm fixture in the Scottish brewing calendar

Brewing giant BrewDog collected the top taste award of the night, beer of the year, for its Sleekit Sour beer. It also collected five gold medals, one silver, and two bronze, including all three medals in the sour beer category following the launch of BrewDog Overworks sours plant earlier this year.

More than 350 people celebrated at the presentation ceremony, which followed a trade show and conference, with speakers from the USA and Germany. 

Hilary Jones, chair of the judging panel, said: “The Scottish Beer Awards is now a firm fixture in the Scottish Brewing calendar. It is encouraging to see the sector’s continued growth and to welcome both newcomers and well-established brewers into this independent and well-respected event.

“2019’s competition has again showcased the first-class products that are being brewed right here in Scotland, as well as recognising some impressive business achievements of the great people who make up our industry. On behalf of the judging panel, I extend many congratulations to all the winners and finalists in this year’s competition.”

• To see a full list of winners, visit the awards website

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This