The Lamplighters, which sits on the bank of the River Avon, dates back to 1760 and is the only pub in Britain to bear this name. It was initially known as Lamplighter’s Hall — a country residence built by a prosperous contractor, responsive for lighting more than half of Bristol’s parishes with oil-lamps.
By the 1800s it was known as Lamplighter’s Hotel, frequented by seamen from across the world during long-periods of anchorage in Hung Road.
The Lamplighters’ new tenant, James Sleeman, is already the operator of three successful pubs — the Bristol Ram, the Bristologist and the Bristol Yard.
Steve Worrall, retail director St Austell Brewery, said: “As a business, we have an ongoing acquisition strategy to strengthen our award-winning estate of pubs and hotels across the South West. We’re therefore delighted to be able to announce the Lamplighters as the latest addition to Bath Ales’ collection of pubs in the region.
“Set in a terrific location overlooking the River Avon, Lamplighters is a classic community pub with a great seasonal food offering, quality local cask beers and excellent outdoor areas, including a south-facing terrace.
“With over 160 years’ experience of championing the pub as the focal point of the community, we look forward to maintaining the character of the pub while, at the same time, developing the offering in partnership with our tenant, James Sleeman. James is an experienced operator with the knowledge and ability to create a warm welcome and exceptional experiences for all guests to this historic and well-loved pub.”
Other Bath Ales pubs include: The Swan at Swineford, The Salamander, Hope Pole and Griffin in Bath, The Wellington in Horsfield, as well as Graze Bath, Graze Bristol and Beerd on St Michael’s Hill, Bristol.